View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:46 PM
Casanova frankenstein's Avatar
Casanova frankenstein Casanova frankenstein is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 801
Originally posted by Lisa B:
Gluten free is not vegetarian (although you could be by choice) - Celiac Disease is an autoimmune condition caused by allergy to wheat, barley, rye and oats. The gluten in those products cause tears in the gut which can lead to osteperosis, lymphoma and other illnesses. Cross-contamination is a huge issue for sufferers - even a minute amount is off limits for life. Carnival did tell me that they can accomodate it by special breads and advise on selections but I was hoping some Celiac sufferers could advise on their actual experience onboard.

Nice to know thanks I always consider it to be a food just for vegetarians, my wife always tell me that gluten was bad for me, but at last I will know why... thanks again