Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Port Chat > Caribbean Port Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2007, 09:29 AM

What is the level of fitness needed to snorkel? I have never done this before but want to take an "Snorkeling by Boat" excursion.
Can anyone share their snorkeling experiences in Tortola (Norman Island) or Half Moon Cay (reefs off the back end of the island).

Navigator of the Seas 2010
Serenade of the Seas 2009, 2011
Eurodam 2008
Maasdam 2007
Amsterdam 2006
Zuiderdam 2004
Old 08-10-2007, 10:01 AM
I have not snorkeled the places you mention, but have many other places. It goes without saying that you need to be a good swimmer, but being in top physical shape is really not necessary. I have seen swimmers at all levels of fitness on my excursions. A life vest is required so all you really need to do is kick your feet--and swimfins make that pretty easy.

Most snorkel excursions I have been on divided the group into levels of proficency; and they keep a close eye on everybody. So no worries--do it and enjoy it.
Old 08-10-2007, 10:18 AM
Banned

Hello Hooked. Snorkeling in itself is not difficult. The main thing to remember is to stay calm and just breathe normally. If need be, the outfitters will give you inflatable vests or life jackets, so you don't worry about sinking. As you get more experience, you can dive down and explore.

I have never snorkeled at these particular sites.

Again, it all depends on your comfort level in the water. I say give it a try though!
Old 08-10-2007, 10:24 AM