Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Port Chat > Caribbean Port Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2005, 05:35 AM

Hi, I am new to this chat area. My wife and I leave Friday for a cruise to the Western Caribbean with Royal Caribbean. (We have cruised several times before). We are in our early 40's and both in great physical shape. Here is my question/dilemma. I want to climb Dunn's River Falls. However, my wife is concerned about having an unexpected accident (slip), that would ruin her cruise. (We have talked to several people that have witnessed people getting hurt. Nothing serious, but enough to put a damper on your vacation). So.....I thought a compromise would be that we could grab a cab and do a tour of the different areas of the island. (And at least stop at Dunn's to take a look and photograph the falls). My wife is concerned about taking a cab on our own. We have had people share mixed experiences about taking a cab and not doing the "structured" excursion. Is the cab option safe? Should I be concerned about taking a cab on my own? I don't want to just sit on a beach. I like to see different sites. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 09-05-2005, 06:40 AM

I would not recommend that you grab a cab from the port and venture off on your own. While some of the drivers are totally reputable, there also a lot of unsavory locals that lie in wait at the cruise terminal. Best to book some kind of a private tour here. I can recommend Carolyn Barrett (http://www.barrettadventures.com). She put together a customized tour of the island for just my husband and myself that was wonderful. I believe the cost was $20 per hour -which was well worth it!!
Cindi
Old 09-05-2005, 06:49 AM