Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Carnival Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:05 PM
jmsettles's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 174
Default
Can someone please tell me which ports on the Western Caribbean's Valor have tenders?
We are looking to make some excursions on our own, and knowing which ports we will have to deal with tenders would be very helpful with our time situation.
Our ports are; Grand Cayman, Roatan Island, Belize, & Costa Maya

Thanks!!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:12 PM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,758
Default
Belize was working on a pier when I was there last year but it may not be finished. Roatan and Grand Cayman are tender calls. I think Costa Maya has a pier, but I've never been there.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:55 PM
Larry in Miami's Avatar  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,137
Default
I was on the Valor in November. Belize and Grand Cayman were tendered ports. Costa Maya and Roatan were not.
__________________
Larry
-------------------------------------------
Photo Website: www.larrysphotos.net
YouTube Channel: VideoOnTheWeb
-------------------------------------------
Upcoming:
Ecstasy September 12, 2014
Conquest November 16, 2014
Ecstasy January 23, 2015

Past Cruises:
43 and Counting......
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:17 PM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,758
Default
Larry,

Thanks for reminding me! Of course Roatan is a docked stop. I don't know what I was thinking of. We were first there in 1999 and we indeed were moored.

I am curious as to when Belize will start using the dock. I know it was a subject of much concern amongst the various private tender operators. They were looking at unemployment.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 05:07 PM
jmsettles's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 174
Default
Larry,
Since you have cruised this itinerary,
maybe you could help me with yet another dilema; When arriving in Grand Cayman, do we lose an hour, or gain an hour? I have booked private excursions in both GC, and Belize & my confirmations are telling me that there is a time change in both of these ports. I am confused and want to be sure that we are arriving on time to make our excursions.
Now that I know that we are tendering in at both of these ports, that slows us down getting off the ship even more so. Just hoping to be able to confirm the time difference to set my mind at ease with our reservations.

Joan
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2006, 06:44 PM
Larry in Miami's Avatar  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,137
Default
As far as I know Grand Cayman is on EST. It should be the same time as the ship. I don't think they observe Daylight Savings Time so that could account for the difference at certain times of the year.

Belize is an hour earlier.

Dave, they told us on the ship that they could not build a dock there. They said that it would damage the coral to have all the big ship traffic. We had to tender in from about five miles out.
__________________
Larry
-------------------------------------------
Photo Website: www.larrysphotos.net
YouTube Channel: VideoOnTheWeb
-------------------------------------------
Upcoming:
Ecstasy September 12, 2014
Conquest November 16, 2014
Ecstasy January 23, 2015

Past Cruises:
43 and Counting......
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:45 PM
peachcrek's Avatar  
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Default
time is always on ship time from port you leave from they do not change times it is to confusing for the passengers if they start moving time up or back always use the time on the ship
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:50 PM
Larry in Miami's Avatar  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,137
Default
peachcrek,
jmsettles had booked private tours which will be going by local time.
__________________
Larry
-------------------------------------------
Photo Website: www.larrysphotos.net
YouTube Channel: VideoOnTheWeb
-------------------------------------------
Upcoming:
Ecstasy September 12, 2014
Conquest November 16, 2014
Ecstasy January 23, 2015

Past Cruises:
43 and Counting......
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:25 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default
Just got back from a Valor sailing. Grand Cayman and Belize are the tender ports. Belize is approximately 5 miles from shore but tenders are extremely fast.
 
Closed Thread

Tags
caribbean, carnival, cruise, miami, port, ports, roatan, tender, tendering, tenders, valor

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ports luvs2sail Carnival Cruise Line 1 04-21-2008 08:38 AM
Tendered port? How do I know Sza Norwegian Cruise Line 3 04-13-2008 01:02 PM
Tendered Wait Lines chevy Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 16 03-10-2006 06:56 AM
VALOR PORTS OF CALL ORDER/TIMES HAVE CHANGED!! pagan Carnival Cruise Line 0 10-19-2005 03:42 PM
Tendered ports tracie762 Carnival Cruise Line 4 09-02-2005 01:17 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2