Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Carnival Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2008, 04:04 PM

Hi guys. I've got myself in a really bad situation and would appreciate any help you all can offer. I'm supposed to go on a seven day Carnival Cruise next week. This is something that was arranged quite awhile ago and my entire dad's side of the family, whom I've been more or less estranged from for quite some time is going. When I was originally asked to go I said I would as long as I could smoke and I could bring an acoustic guitar (I'm a professional musician). I was told by my dad who's been on Carnival Cruises before that of course I would be able to bring a guitar and so I gave him the green light to set everything up. Fast forward to the last few weeks and slowly but surely I've been learning more about this cruise from him and from my own research on the internet. Having never been on a cruise ship before I had no idea about formal nights, set dinner times, assigned seating etc. etc. Beyond that, it seems most of the various onboard activities are geared towards middle aged couples which makes sense as I realize that's probably the main demographic for the cruises. To be quite honest, I'm not really interested in a lot of that stuff but I was looking forward to the island excursions and just sittin' around strumming my guitar during downtime. Well, long story short, I found out just last night whilst looking over the Carnival website that they have a ban on all musical instruments except those brought aboard by the performers! I had never heard of such a thing, nor had anyone in my family. It certainly wasn't listed in any of the literature that we initially signed on for and had it been I would have never gave my dad consent to buy me a ticket (the only place it appears is b