Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Carnival Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2009, 09:52 AM
I noticed in our pre cruise stuff that there are Galley Tours. Has any one taken one of these? What was is like? What do you get to see?
Old 02-08-2009, 10:15 AM
Administrator

You get to tour a commercial kitchen and perhaps get your photo taken with someone wearing a toque and white jacket. I hate to make it sound dull but it is a tour of the food prep stations, the saute and grilling stations, ovens, steam kettles for soups, pickup area, etc., while they tell you how many eggs, vegetables, and pounds of meat they use in a week. Not much different than touring the kitchen at a large hotel, other than it is more compact.
Old 02-09-2009, 12:16 PM

I remember when I was a junior chef de partie on the Sensation.

Lol Dave is right on the money there is no different than a large commercial kitchen in a hotel - I remember seeing the guests come into the galley and go Ohhh and Ahh over the spotless shining stainless steel, and some of the questions that we were asked - Most guests have got no idea as to the amount of provisions that A cruise ship goes through in 1 week!!!! and that is also including the staff.
Old 02-09-2009, 12:48 PM

I always enjoyed the tours because I couldn't get over how small they were in comparison to the number of meals served. It still blows my mind how they can plate so many meals, serve them warm, and do it so quickly. My hats off to the chefs!
Old 02-09-2009, 01:04 PM
Administrator

Quote:
I remember seeing the guests come into the galley and go Ohhh and Ahh over the spotless shining stainless steel