Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Carnival Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2007, 09:16 AM

Hi! I'm a newbie to this site and LOVE all the info I'm getting ... thanks!

Just booked a Fantasy cruise for the family leaving October 6th. It is not official yet, but when I called Carnival, they told me the cruise would be going to Progresso, not Costa Maya.

My issue is that I can't book any shore excursions from Progresso yet - either on Carnival or on my own. Carnival has none posted (because the itinerary still says Costa Maya) and I don't know our arrival time so booking on my own is not an option.

Does anyone know if there are tours offered once I get off the ship? We are interested in touring Chichen Itza, and with a family of five, would love to save money by doing it on my own. Is this a good idea? I understand the dock is reaaally long, and this may present a problem. Thanks for any advice!
Old 08-31-2007, 06:34 PM

Hi donfanone and welcome.
The last time we were in Progresso was almost 3 years ago. I do not remember a lot of people selling excursions at the pier, maybe it has changed since we were there.

There is a small shopping area where you dock and yes the pier is extremely long. They have shuttles and cabs. I recomend the cabs. It is much faster.

We went to the public beach and went shopping in town. Got $1 beers on the beach and shopping was cheap also.

Read and post cruise reviews
Old 08-31-2007, 06:37 PM
Hi to You,