Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Carnival Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:21 PM
Frase's Avatar  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, FLA
Posts: 960
Default
I plan to go on a cruise aboard the Carnival Triumph in November.

Are you able to use your laptop onboard, and have a wireless conection to the Internet? If so, I suppose the wireless signal is not free (OOPS, Sorry Dave!) I suppose the wireless signal is not included in the cruise fare.

So, I was wondering how much extra the wireless network service is. And what kind of hardware and software you need set-up on your laptop?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:29 PM
Frase's Avatar  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, FLA
Posts: 960
Default
And..No, I will not use my laptop for business while I am on a cruise.

Instead, I might use it to email my family/friends to tell them I am doing well and having a great time. I might even send them a photo or two.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:46 PM
f-mattox's Avatar  
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 4,740
Default
I don't know about Carnival but on HAL and Princess the wireless accout is just as expensive as using their computers; and you had to be in specific locations, although a lot are moving to ship-wide wireless access. Sorry, I don't rmember the exact charges, but it was around .50 to .75 cents a minute depending on which package you bought.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:55 PM
Frase's Avatar  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, FLA
Posts: 960
Default
Thank you, F-Mattox:

Actually, if I could load my memory card from my camera into the computer in the Internet Café, and access the photos contained in the card, I just might leave my laptop at home. But, I don't think it is possible; judging from the last time I was on a cruise.

Or maybe I could use the Internet computers at the ports of call? I never did use them on my last cruises.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2007, 03:48 AM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,742
Default
Using wireless is the same as using the internet cafe computers, cost wise. I like to bring my laptop for the independence it gives me - I don't have to wait for a desktop machine to become available, and I can download all my e-mail instead of having to use internet e-mail to read it online...which wastes those precious minutes of shipboard internet use.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:08 PM
Frase's Avatar  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, FLA
Posts: 960
Default
Thank you Dave, for your reply.

Sounds like bringing your laptop along with you on the cruise is better than using the computer in the Internet café.

So, I suppose you can work on your laptop "off-line" when you want to? And then when you are ready to email, you can "log-on" to the network onboard the cruise ship? Is that how it works?

I wonder how you would set that up on your computer. Do you have to have a certain type of hardware (wireless network card) before you get onboard the cruise ship? Do you have to install certain software when onboard the cruise ship?
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2007, 03:32 PM
PC GUY's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 354
Default
Hello I sailed on the Triumph in May. I took my laptop with me. In order to use the Internet you have to buy one of the minute packages - I think I paid 50.00 for 100 minutes. they have specials for embarkation day.

When you want to go "live" - you have to create a session - you log in using your password that you create when you create to account and then you can surf and send outbound email - when you want to end your session, you have to log out.

Carnival has "Happy Hours" at various times where you can surf at half price. You show the Internet manager your receipt and they will credit the minutes back to your account.

You will need a wireless access card, you can plug it into the PCMCIA slot- unless your computer is newer and has one built into the motherboard. You don't need any special software - Just your browser Internet Explorer or Mozilla.

I had a cat 6E cabin on Spa deck - I was able to get an intermittent signal, but it was not the greatest. You can get a strong signal in the open areas on deck, or in the Public areas and lounges.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:31 PM
Frase's Avatar  
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, FLA
Posts: 960
Default
Thank you, PC Guy for your help.
 
Closed Thread

Tags
7282, board, carnival, computers, cruise, food, internet, laptop, network, reviews, service, triumph, verizon, wireless

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carnival and the Food Network Channel vacationbound Carnival Cruise Line 3 09-17-2009 10:30 AM
NCL Pearl Wireless Network? Frase Norwegian Cruise Line 7 11-01-2008 10:45 AM
Wireless in Cozumel Ohiocruiser Caribbean Port Chat 4 03-27-2008 02:07 AM
wireless internet suitecruiser Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 1 06-12-2006 05:22 AM
Wireless Internet MoneyGuy Princess Cruises 3 12-26-2005 02:47 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2