Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Port Chat > Europe Port Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2008, 03:25 PM

We will be on Princess Grand arriving on Corfu.
How far is it from the port to Old Town? Not sure where Princess docks. The ship offers a shuttle for $24 pp. Expensive I think. About how much is a taxi? Are there any other options? Also what is the taxi (other options?) charge to Achillio Palace?

Thanks,
Kaye
Old 07-03-2008, 08:54 PM

Its been a few years since we last visited Corfu, so I am far from an expert. But, the cruise ship pier is a little less than a 2 mile walk into the heart of Corfu Town. That price for a shuttle seems a bit steep, but I would have no current info on the cost of a taxi or if there is a local bus. Personally, if we ever get back to that island we would simply rent a car for the day. The car would not be helpful in Corfu Town, but its a great way to explore the island and spend some time at one of the beaches.

Hank
Old 07-06-2008, 07:59 AM

I would be extremely hesitant to spend $24 pp on a Princess transfer. That is an exorbitant rate. How long are you going to be in port? Last year, my wife and I used Ocean Rent a Car and they were fabulous to work with. Be warned that you need to be able to operate a manual transmission and, if you go the cheapest route, you may have to sacrifice air conditioning. When I first received the documentation for my rental, I thought that they had a typo. The paperwork showed me to be getting a "punto". I thought they were talking about a pinto but I didn't realize that Fiat makes a Punto. If you are there in the evening, you will notice that Corfu has some of the best sunset vistas that Europe has to offer.

Closed Thread

Tags