Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Port Chat > Europe Port Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2006, 10:48 PM

Hi there

I'm new to this amazing website - great to read the experiences of cruisers!

I've booked a cruise on Carnival Freedom for my honeymoon - it will be my first time cruising...

12 days: Civitavecchia->Naples->Rhodes->Izmir->Istanbul->Athens->Katakolon->Livorno->Civitavecchia

The experiences I've read on this website favour exploring ports on your own, but are there any ports where a cruise-organised tour is recommended?

Any suggestions/tips for the above ports or about Carnival cruises? Cruise meals ok?

Will the sea conditions in Early Spring be rough? I don't want to get seasick...

Many Thanks, hope to hear soon
Old 12-22-2006, 06:29 AM
Administrator

Hello MarchCruiser,

Welcome to Cruise-Chat!

Congratulations on booking your first cruise and on the upcoming nuptuals.

Unless you have been to those cities before, I urge you to not go off on your own. It is wise to stick with the ship's tours. Especially with this being your first cruise. You are not in any port for a particularly long time, and if the ship doesn't know where you are when departure time comes - they will leave without you. On the other hand, they will wait if a ship's tour gets delayed for some reason.

Well, that is my two euros worth. Others may tell you to go on you own. I prefer to never throw caution to the wind.

I spent close to a year on ships in the Med and never had what I'd call rough seas - but it does happen. I wouldn't worry about it.

I like Carnival's product. The food is quite good. Don't expect Michelin star quality, but that is true for all mainstream cruise lines. The extra-fee restaurant is better quality than the main dining room - and most people feel it is worth the extra charge.