Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > General Cruise Chat Questions > General Cruise Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2007, 03:19 PM

I am a total newbie and I apologize for the length of this. My husband and I have finally decided it is time for a cruise. I have spent many, many hours online researching ships, ports, etc. Since this is our first cruise, I really want it to be something special. We are in our early thirties and are planning to go to the Caribbean. I thought we had decided on HAL's October 28 cruise to Grand Cayman, Grand Turk, Costa Maya and the private island (Half Moon Cay I think). I called a travel agent this morning, but she seemed to think we would be making a mistake. She recommended a Princess cruise instead because of the age of the passengers on HAL. I'm sure the agent knows what she is talking about, but I also see that their website is mostly based on Princess cruises and she admitted they have a strong connection with them. I'm afraid the push to Princess is based on some financial arrangement between them rather than how much we will enjoy our trip. This puts us in quite a dilemma. Grand Cayman sounded so good because of the sting rays (my sister visited them on a honeymoon cruise several years ago on Royal Caribbean). However, we want to avoid going to Mexico as much as possible which seems to be the norm if you visit Grand Cayman. We can visit Mexico anytime. Although we are young, we are not the party animal types. We would prefer to watch games, karoke, etc and not really get in there and be a part of the action. We do like movies and shows and music and such. I have so many questions. Customer service and good food are very important to us. I guess what I'm trying to ask is: