Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > General Cruise Chat Questions > General Cruise Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2011, 05:55 PM

Default Help with my honeymoon!
Hi All,

I am basically new to cruising as I took my first cruise in January 2011 on the RC Radiance of the Seas to Mexico.

I am getting married next summer and both my fiance and I have agreed that we want to cruise in Europe. Upon meeting with my friend/travel agent he recommended the a 13 night trip on the Celebrity Silhouette with ports including Rome, Naples, Malta, Piraeus, Santorini, Kusadasi, Rhodes, Mykonos, Chania, Messina and Venice.

Another option would be a 12 night trip on the RC Serenade of the Seas, quite similar I believe to the ship I was on in January, with ports including Barcelona, Cannes, Livorno, Rome, Piraeus, Kusadasi, Santorini and Naples. This option would be $1600 cheaper.

WHICH WOULD YOU CHOOSE? Considering both ships, all ports and expenses.

THANKS!
Old 09-07-2011, 08:23 PM

Kayteelah, Welcome to Cruise Reviews. Yes, the Serenade is a sister ship to the Radiance. $1600 is a big difference but there are several factors to consider. First, are you looking at the same type of cabin (balcony, outside,). Even if you might be looking at a balcony on both ships, Celebrity has balcony categories that come with Concierge and upgraded amenities. I hope your travel agent friend explained the differences between these two cruise lines and these two ships. The Silhouette is a brand new ship that just came out, the Serenade is eight years old. Celebrity is a premium cruise line and caters to a different demographic market than Royal Caribbean. You do have one extra day on the Silhouette and more ports, so that also accounts for some of the difference.