Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > General Cruise Chat Questions > General Cruise Chat
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 02:05 PM

Default Fuel surcharge/bunker consumption.
What is a Ships Fuel (BUNKER) Consumption “IT’S A TRICK QUESTION”

I have been a tramp dry cargo ship broker in New York City for nearly 35 years. I speak to ship owners and traders that need ships to move their cargoes (fertilizer, sugar, grains etc) and negotiate the charter party terms and conditions between the two. A typical charter which I might arrange is 6,000 metric tons of phosphates loading in Tampa Florida for discharge Veracruz Mexico. My degree in Marketing (IONA 1976) did not prepare me for this career; I learned it on the job. Suffice to say I’m not a technical expert on fuel consumption but after reading comments about fuel consumption and surcharges I thought I’d toss in my two cents on what I do know. And while I know very little about passenger ships I have chartered thousands of dry cargo ocean freighters over the years.

Cruise ship consumption has always been a mystery to me too, I always wanted to know. The first and only cruise that I took I asked the Ch. Engineer and he actually lied to me!!! Actually I never saw a hard number before reading a post from a ship
Captain that his Passenger vessel burned 1,200 ton for a 7 day voyage.. now this is a number that DOES make sense! But what’s interesting to me is the way posters in this forum define costs in terms of pennies per foot, dollars per yard, gallons per foot, gallons per cylinder and so on and so on. In the tramp world of shipping we express fuel (and fuel is called ‘bunkers” in our industry) as: x knots on x metric tons of x type of bunkers per day. So a typical ship carrying my fertilizer cargo to Mexico in the above example might be described like this.