Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Holland America Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2006, 08:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default
Travelling on Westerdam and wondering if baby monitors work on cruise ships and or walkie talkies
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2006, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,370
Default
No personal experience with it, but I've heard mixed reviews. There's lots of sheet metal on a ship, and signals may get blocked easily.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default
We were just on Zuiderdam and the walkie talkies were spotty at best. My wife had a conference on deck 3 and I had lots of trouble communicating with her on deck 7 (in our room). I think that the bulkheads cause too much interference.

www.tomandemily.com
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 259
Default
Baby monitors will be useless unless you are in the room next store. However, I have never had a problem on any ship I have been on using a 3 watt or better radio. Can go through every deck from front to back of the ship.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:05 PM
Greyson's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Charles, Minnesota
Posts: 691
Default
I guess my question is why would you leave your baby in the room and go out somewhere on the ship while they were sleeping. Maybe thats not what you are doing, but being that fires, etc., can happen on a ship, I sure wouldnt leave a little one.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2007, 07:19 PM
rtb rtb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default
Like many things, it depends on the quality and ppower of your unit(s). Our son & wife have successfully used the baby monitor and all of us communicate easily with our 5-mile 3-watt VHFs. However, some countries you may visit have laws which outlaw their use without a license. (we just carry our FCC operator's license, but have never been questioned nor heard of anyone who has. This last info from having cruised our own boat in foreign waters; they check smaller vessels more than cruise ships)
 
Closed Thread

Tags
baby, caribbean, cruise, majesty, moniter, monitor, monitors, nyc, royal, seas, ship, ships, talkies, walkie, work, wship

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will walkie talkies work in Alaska? Traveling Grammy Alaska Port Chat 9 11-04-2007 02:31 PM
Walkie Talkies on ship SherryG2 Carnival Cruise Line 8 07-30-2007 11:09 AM
Do walkie talkies work on the ship? LexyLovesCruisin Carnival Cruise Line 4 02-20-2007 03:24 PM
Pictures of the Pride? Walkie Talkies work? Islandman Carnival Cruise Line 3 11-17-2006 06:25 AM
Walkie Talkies - Which Ones Work? Fam6 Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 24 07-26-2006 05:04 AM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Contact Us - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2