Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Lido Deck - Off-Topic Section > Lido Deck
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2010, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Red face
Jim, Thank you so much. I had no idea about the HDMI cables. The confusing part is one of the inputs says Component In - That one is on the back of the TV. The AV one that Rick helped me find in on the side of the TV and it says AV In. The book is suggesting use the Component one for the non HDMI DVD player. The book doesn't even mention a VCR. I got the parent's one hooked up somehow. It was a bit confusing. I will keep an eye out for a Blue Ray player on sale. Thanks for the info about that. Seems like I am getting behind with technology.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2010, 02:03 PM
Jim C.'s Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 5,113
Default
The Vcr is fine for the AV inputs as it won't be true HD anyway. The TV will most likely only give you true HD (1080p) on the hdmi inputs also. So for the DVD, s-video or AV is you best bet unless the player is new enough to have a Hdmi output.
__________________
================================================== ==========
Carnival Cruise Lines:
Fantasy 90, Celebration 95, Victory 05, Conquest 05, Spirit 6/06, Freedom 6/08, Holiday 7/08, Victory 6/09, Valor 9/09, Dream 6/10, Splendor 8/10,Conquest 8/11,
Magic 11/11,Triumph 4/12,Spirit 7/12,Freedom 11/12, Triumph 2/13 - The fire cruise, Magic 1/14, Freedom x 2 6/14

NCL Dream October 2006, RCCL Mariner OTS June 2007, Celebrity Silhouette 2013
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2010, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
Thanks again Jim. It is going to be a few days before I hook anything up. I just have it sitting on a table in front of the old entertainment cabinet (in which it won't fit). So I have to do an entire re-do first as everything vcr, dvd, and stereo are all stacked in it. I hate to get rid of the cabinet as it is beautiful mahogany. As we say in the real estate biz it has a case of "functional obsolescence".

I told my sis you recommended me getting a Blue Ray. She said she loves hers and has it set up on her wifi system to get movies from Netflix and Amazon etc. I am sold on it. Just gotta wait till I can afford one.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
I took the plunge and bought a Blue Ray player today. Wally World had a Sony one on sale and that is what I wanted so I got it. I had Christmas money from the folks and sisters. It doesn't have built in wifi, but it has an ethernet connection for the new Cisco router and a port if you want to add an adapter for the wifi. My sister loves hers for watching movies via Netflix.

Jim, there was no way I was paying $30 for a 5 ft. HDMI cable. Please send me the link for the cheap cables. I also need a 20 ft. ethernet cable for my Desktop work computer. My Linksys USB Network Adapter antenna would not work with Windows 7 and no driver available. No wonder Time Warner did not want it back.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2010, 05:35 AM
penny3333's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,601
Default
Check out NewEgg or TigerDirect or Mwave for cheap cables. I know Blue Ray is the new "thing" but they'll come out with something else that will make that obsolete. You just can't keep up. By the time you buy anything it's outdated
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2010, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
Thanks Penny. I usually do business with TigerDirect. I found the cables on another site for a good price already though. I can't believe the stores are charging so much for the HDMI cables. Remember the good ole days when you'd buy something and it came with the cables? I re-joined Netflix with a decent deal. Movie streaming plus 1 movie in the mail at a time for $9.99. This beats premium cable channels like Showtime etc. Like I ever have time to watch movies anyway.

Windows 7 successfully installed on the 2 desktops now. 2 down - 1 to go.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
WooHoo! I just used the "Sticky Notes" feature on Windows 7! I am a Post-It addict.
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
I couldn't get my Nintendo Entertainment System Emulator to work on 7. Seems some files had the wrong directory names on the USB drive I had stored it on. It is working now with some tweaking. I couldn't find my game pad settings file to save them. So Joy...I get to reprogram the buttons.
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Default
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
I couldn't get my Nintendo Entertainment System Emulator to work on 7. Seems some files had the wrong directory names on the USB drive I had stored it on. It is working now with some tweaking. I couldn't find my game pad settings file to save them. So Joy...I get to reprogram the buttons.
Duh me! I just realized I started this thread because of the same problem! LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2011, 03:10 PM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,747
Default
On another computer topic...

Yesterday I finally decided to add a 2nd monitor to my main computer. I previously used a PowerMac G5 with a 20" wide screen Apple monitor, but when Mac OS X 10.6 was introduced it only worked with Intel processors so I had to start using a first generation Intel iMac, also with a 20" screen, that I had previously bought and left sitting in the guest room (yes, I provide free wi-fi for guests). Meanwhile the old monitor just sat in a corner.

What a difference! I have all this screen space now. As I type this I have the forum open in a window on one monitor, the website administrator controls open in another window, my e-mail open, plus another browser window open on my iGoogle homepage. I could open two or three other things and still have big enough windows to make them useable.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
access, computer, cruise, dial, discontinued, exchanging, geeks, pictures, roadrunner, router, time

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Bugs penny3333 Lido Deck 20 10-20-2009 07:04 PM
I can't post on my computer? Nat General Cruise Chat 9 01-28-2008 10:30 AM
Computer access? daffodildeb Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 6 01-22-2007 04:06 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 AM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2