Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Lido Deck - Off-Topic Section > Lido Deck
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2008, 07:59 PM

Does anyone have Comcast as their isp? Has it slowed down considerably in the last 2 weeks or so? Since I got home from our last trip it takes almost a full minute to access a page from CNN, sometimes even longer. I know that Comcast has been reducing speeds on some things but this is getting as slow as a dial up. I've rebooted my modem as well as the router with no change.
Old 07-16-2008, 12:25 AM

Hey Rich, I am no computer expert, but it could be a bug in your system. I went through the exact same thing a few months ago. Somehow I got an advertising spyware type thing that caused this. I would call Comcast first to verify the speed issue. Also, run and update any anti-virus and anti-spyware programs you have. I ended up having to re-format my hard drive and start over with updating everything. You sure don't want to do that, unless is a last resort. Good luck with this.

Dwayne
Old 07-16-2008, 01:33 AM

I was thinking the same thing Dwayne, I'm running Spybot S&D along with AVG anti-virus. Things have improved this morning but it's not as fast as it was previously. I'm gong to do an update with both & re-run them before I call Comcast. This is on both the desktop & laptop. Strange.
Old 07-16-2008, 05:40 AM

RichC, I use Comcast and I have not noticed any change in access speed.

Sandy
Old 07-16-2008, 07:04 AM