Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Lido Deck - Off-Topic Section > Lido Deck
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2010, 11:24 PM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 11,612
Just remembered that I need to do the time change thing again. It doesn't make sense to me in this day and age. Oh well, I'll start changing the clocks in a bit. Hopefully my atomic watch is set correctly this time around to do it automatically. It is such a pain in the arse to change the settings.

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2010, 11:52 PM
f-mattox's Avatar  
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 4,740
We should just go to daylight savings year 'round!
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:01 AM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New England
Posts: 1,213
I'm all for that, its bleak enough during the winter months in the NE without it getting dark(er) at 4:00pm...


Read and post cruise reviews
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:59 AM
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 331
One of our province, Saskatchewan never change the clocks, which I think is great. I do not know why our government does not just make a decision to stop this nonsense. It cost us tons of money two times a year as I work in IT, computers and we get tons of overtime just to do this.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2010, 12:58 PM
penny3333's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,601
It is totally stupid, but yet we have to comply. Kudos to Arizona and Indianapolis. I think there are a couple of other places that don't do this ridiculous dance, too.

Wooddon, can't y'all just use windows machines? It does the time change automatically. Ok, mac users, don't beat me up, I know macs do it to
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2010, 06:08 AM
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 331
Yes all of our systems does it automatically, however we have daily meeting every day for the two weeks before and management demand that we be onsite at the time change just in case of problems. We have to be available 7/24, so if something mess up, then there is no room for error.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2010, 09:48 AM
penny3333's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,601
That so reminds me of the W2K debacle. We couldn't take vacation, we couldn't leave the house without our pagers, and we spent New Year's Eve at work. We went around replacing ROM, we set back calendars, we updated operating systems. For two months before we ran around like chickens with our heads cut off. Backing up and rebacking up everything. Absolutely nothing happened. What a waste of effort and money.
Closed Thread

change, cruise, time

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Change on Freedom? MCPayne Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 5 07-28-2010 08:38 PM
How to change dinner time?? rochbie Carnival Cruise Line 14 12-28-2007 07:26 PM
Time Change while in Nassau. MikeyB Carnival Cruise Line 12 12-13-2006 04:08 PM
Time Change kclvt Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 5 07-07-2005 06:27 AM
Do ships change to local time? lisa navarro Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 11 02-03-2005 02:25 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2