Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Norwegian Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2006, 10:13 AM

hey all

I have accepted a job offer as a server/waitress with NCLA (Hawaii) and will be leaving for training within the next few weeks. I have read SO many horrible reviews of NCLA that I am definitely reconsidering taking the job.
I have read some threads regarding employment but it seems they are quite out of date. Does anyone, particularly current or recent employees of NCLA have any advice?
I have a BA and over 6 years of customer service experience ...I am a hard worker and true people pleaser. I always want to have pride in what I am doing ..and am concerned, after reading so many awful reviews that there is little "pride" in the American flagged "Pride of America" and "Pride of Aloha".
This is a big decision (5 month contract) so any comments, suggestions, advice, etc is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for your time and attention!
Old 06-09-2006, 10:23 AM

Quote:
I have a BA and over 6 years of customer service experience
Question - unless your BA is in hotel management/hospitality - I don't understand why you want to be a waitress on a cruise ship. Being a server is of the hardest jobs I can think of on land (I used to own a restaurant) but on a cruise ship, with the hours you have to work, I am just curious, why...

Old 06-09-2006, 10:37 AM

I have worked in plenty of restaurants and definitely know what hard work it is!