Cruise Reviews Forums

Cruise Reviews Forums (http://www.cruisereviews.com/forum/)
-   Norwegian Cruise Line (http://www.cruisereviews.com/forum/norwegian-cruise-line/)
-   -   SS France (Norway) (http://www.cruisereviews.com/forum/norwegian-cruise-line/7768-ss-france-norway.html)

Jorunn 12-09-2005 02:30 PM

Hi!I am a ship science student in Southampton and I am writing an assignment on SS Framce but I can`t find much information about the hull structure and propulsion system. Do anyone of you now where to get this information?

Raoul Fiebig 12-09-2005 02:47 PM

Jorunn,

as for the S/S "France's" propulsion system:

- Propulsion: 4 Geared Steam Turbines, CEM-Parsons-Atlantique
- Boilers: 8
- Power Output: 175,000 HP
- Fuel Consumption: 800 t / day
- Propellers: 4
- Service Speed: 31 knots
- Flank Speed: 35.21 knots (second-fastest ocean liner ever built)

What are you interested in as far as the hull structure is concerned?

Jorunn 12-09-2005 03:12 PM

Thank you so much for the information, Raoul. I am just wondering, since she was build to be one of the fastest ocean liners, what extra feature did they do with the hull and propulsion system to give her this advance?

Best regards
Jorunn

Ron Clark 12-09-2005 06:30 PM

While the SS France was fast, she wasn't that fast. 35 knots top speed is not that much faster than what the older Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth could do. They could reach a top speed of 31.75 knots while pushing 80,774 tons through the water on 4 steam turbines rated at 160,000 shaft horse power.
What made the SS France faster than the Queens was the 175,000 shaft horespower pushing only 66,348 tons through the water. Although longer, the SS France was lighter in weight.

Just like racing cars, the stronger engine pushing less weight is usually faster.