Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Princess Cruises
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 03:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Coral, Fl.
Posts: 1,319
Default
Does anyone know how the cabins are issued to the various on-line web sites. I refer to about 2 to 3 different sites to price a particular cruise & most of the time I see the same cabin numbers to select from although the prices might be different. I can't believe that I'm see ALL the cabins that are truly available or am I? Is it possible that Princess issues them in a trickle to be sold or do different TA have the options on different cabins?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 05:46 PM
tekdiva's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 105
Default
I think that there is a link between the websites and the cruiseline so that everyone has access to available rooms. I notice the same thing when I booked my cruise but Princess had the same rooms available.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 06:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Coral, Fl.
Posts: 1,319
Default
I suppose that's true but there're are so many rooms that aren't shown as being available & I can't believe there all filled. No matter how far out I check there are only a select number to choose from & all the TA's seem to have the same ones to offer. Strange. I also guessing that many are allotted in blocks to individual TA's & that's why they aren't shown.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 08:10 PM
f-mattox's Avatar  
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 4,740
Default
I think you are right RichC; agencies reserve blocks of cabins for their own promotions. And Princess releases them in a trickle, as you say.

I haven't looked at other on-line agencies, but on the Princess site you have the option of entering a specific cabin number and it will tell you if it is available or not. That's how I've booked my last three cruises.

And sometimes I will just spot-check to get an idea of how full the ship is. There are usually lots of cabins availabe in addition to the ones they put up on the screen.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2008, 05:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Coral, Fl.
Posts: 1,319
Default
I tried to check Princess's cabin selections but it's either not working right now or I'm doing something wrong. I'll try again later.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2008, 07:01 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,016
Default
Yes, The cruise line will allow a certain amount of space to be held by group space. Any cabins not sold by that agency by a given date will then go back into the inventory. The cruise line also reserves a certain amount of cabins in each category for the "Guarantee" space.
 
Closed Thread

Tags
availability, availbility, avalible, avilability, booked, cabin, cabina, cabins, cruise, cruises, find, princess, reseve, ship, specific, staterooms

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cabins on Grand Princess Lss96 Princess Cruises 5 08-12-2008 01:20 PM
RCCL vs Princess cabins dl7895 Princess Cruises 1 03-21-2007 11:09 AM
Princess Diamond, Jan 13 2007 availability.... PennyC Princess Cruises 7 01-07-2007 07:52 PM
ATM's Availability lskaye Princess Cruises 2 04-02-2006 05:05 PM
Shore excursion availability Explorer of the Seas rdpage01 Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 2 02-08-2003 02:57 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2