Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 10:59 AM

Hello I am new to traveling and looking forward to my first cruise on RC.I have a few questions I hope someone can help me with.
Q#1 I have titanium implants in my leg and neck. Will I be able to pass thru a security check point OK or do I need a letter from my doctor?
Q#2 Do I have to take all my prescrition bottles with me or can I have my medications in a single pill holder?
Q#3 Should I put small locks on my luggage Zippers?
Q#4 We are going to Bermuda, Can I leave the ship to walk around or go to the beach or Do I have to purchase a land excursion to be able leave the ship?
Thanks Joe Joe
Old 08-08-2009, 11:50 AM
Hello Joe Joe, and welcome to Cruise-Chat;

congratulations on your decision to try cruising; you will love it! Ship security is less stringent than airport security, but I'll assume you are asking about airport security.

You can save yourself a lot of time and inconvenience if you carry a letter from your doctor explaining your implants, and also by carrying your perscriptions in their original bottles. These are not requirements; but they can surely save a lot of explaining at the airport.

And putting TSA approved locks on your luggage is a must; it won't guarantee that your belongings will be safe--but it will help. And since you are new to traveling, I can't emphasize enough how important it is to NOT PUT valuables in your checked luggage--and that includes your medications. Anyting you want to be 100% sure makes it to your destination, you need to carry yourself!

I have not been to Bermuda; but from what I've read here, it is very easy to get around on your own. You don't need to purchase a land excursion to get off the ship anyplace but Russia.