Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:50 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default
Last year I went on a RC cruise and had a horrible time getting internet access using their computers. This time I am going on the Oasis and bringing my own laptop- anyone have any ideas on how the access will be? I work from home and I need at least an hour each day to work. Thanks!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:08 AM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,795
Default
As with all ship communications, it can depend on the location of the ship. For instance we had terrible internet access on an Alaska cruise a couple years ago.

I was on the Oasis last December for it's first revenue cruise and access was fine. Nothing blazing fast but sitting in my cabin, or poolside, or in the Central Park with my Dell netbook I had wi-fi whenever I logged in. Probably 256k speed most of the time. The pricing plans are the same as using the internet cafe - which by the way is terribly small and out of the way on the Oasis. They purposely want to drive the passengers to bring their own and use the wi-fi.

RCI recently added a new 500 minute plan for $150, which sounds like what you'll need to buy.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:17 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default
I called them and they told me I can only use my computer at designated locations- is that not true? I can use my computer in my room while the kids are napping? I will be so happy!
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:45 AM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,795
Default
Although their website states that only the Freedom class ships have ship-wide internet wi-fi, the Oasis definitely has it in every cabin. Everywhere I went I was able to log in, but that could be simply because there are so many cabins that I was never too far from a cabin window or balcony.

But rest assured, unless there is a technical issue you'll be able to use your laptop in your cabin.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:50 AM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,795
Default
BTW, you'll have to visit the dinky internet cafe initially to set up an account.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default
Great, thanks!
 
Closed Thread

Tags
access, caribbean, computer, crtuise, cruise, cruises, forums, internet, netbook, oasis, princess, rcl, reviews, royal, terrible

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Access Mitchell General Cruise Chat 3 08-24-2007 12:43 PM
Internet access culater Holland America Line 18 11-21-2006 06:16 AM
Internet access joarkn Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 1 09-26-2005 03:21 PM
internet access peachcrek Carnival Cruise Line 2 10-21-2004 06:26 AM
Internet access Princess Cruises 19 12-31-1969 05:00 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2