Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:16 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13
Default
I understand that Royal Caribbean offers a few locations on ship that offer internet access (for a fee) through their onboard computers, via your own ISP. Further, I understand that each of the staterooms are equipped with internet access via your laptop, also using your own ISP, also for a fee.

Has anyone used either of these internet access points while on a recent RCI cruise? Any idea of the cost and/or relative speed? I doubt the laptop would fit in the room safe, so is it safe to leave the laptop in the room? Lastly... are there onboard "chat rooms" where one might find another "kindred soul?"
__________________
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:42 AM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,774
Default
I used wi-fi on the Freedom Of The Seas recently, but it has wider coverage than the other ships. Relative speed is, well, relative. I thought I had fairly quick speed virtually all of the time - maybe around 128k if I were to judge it from past experience. Others on the same cruise thought it was very slow. I used the internet cafe once and it was much slower than what I got on my laptop. I don't know if it mattered, but I used a MacBook Pro. Another member also uses Mac and was told by the internet manager that Mac's get better reception on the ships. Is it true? Can't say, but mine worked well.

Base fee is 50 cents per minute. Packages of various numbers of minutes are available. I forget what they were but I got the highest one which I think brought the cost down to 33 cents or so. 100 minute package I think.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13
Default
Thanks, Dave... I'll let you know how things turn out. If I bring my laptop, I was considering giving a short daily report of the previous days highlights (since I like to wake up early and my wife and kids prefer to sleep in).
__________________
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:23 PM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,774
Default
We'd certainly love to see a daily update from the ship!

BTW - your signature line weblinks appear broken to me.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:35 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13
Default
Thanks, Dave... yeah, my Cruise Ticker isn't cooperating... I'm sure I did something wrong, as I'm far from computer literate! I guess the adult ADD doesn't help much either!

Bill
__________________
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-27-2006, 08:26 AM
ChucksOK's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Southwest
Posts: 668
Default
Quote:
Originally posted by LiftinCruiser:
Thanks, Dave... yeah, my Cruise Ticker isn't cooperating... I'm sure I did something wrong, as I'm far from computer literate! I guess the adult ADD doesn't help much either!Bill
Change it to read (without the * ):
**

That should work... If not, send me a private message and I'll help you.
__________________

  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13
Default
Thanks, Chuck... it worked like a charm! I appreciate it!
__________________
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2006, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 128
Default
My husband was able to use his laptop on our last 3 RCCL cruises. We paid a one-time fee for around $100 unlimited use). On one cruise, we paid per use at the internet cafe, and paid more than the one-time charge. We were on Radiance last May and they had just completed the installation of high-speed internet, but I'm not if all ships are have been updated.
__________________
ZC
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2006, 05:15 PM
Dave's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17,774
Default
I believe RCCL has recently stopped the unlimited use option. It was not available on the Freedom in June.
__________________
Dave
Editor, CruiseReviews.com
 
Closed Thread

Tags
access, caribbean, computer, freedom, internet, mac, manager, royal, seas

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Access Mitchell General Cruise Chat 3 08-24-2007 11:43 AM
Internet Access floridaFun Royal Caribbean Cruise Line 2 02-08-2007 08:03 AM
Internet access culater Holland America Line 18 11-21-2006 05:16 AM
internet access peachcrek Carnival Cruise Line 2 10-21-2004 05:26 AM
Internet access Princess Cruises 19 12-31-1969 04:00 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
 

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Contact Us - Terms of Use - Cruise Reviews Home - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2