Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 02:59 PM

Hi everyone!

As you may be able to see by my ticker, I booked my next cruise for the Freedom of the Seas. This will be my first time on one of RCI's larger ships, and just have a couple questions.

I see that there is an ice skating rink on board. I know they have a show there, but when it isn't used for the show, is it available for open skating? And do we need to sign up for either the show or open skating?

Also, this is my first time on a ship that has a Royal Promenade. It is my understanding that the Cafe Promenade is free. Is this true or is it just for certain items, like a cup of coffee?
2013 - Golden Princess (Alaska, roundtrip from Seattle)
Old 04-11-2010, 03:12 PM
Administrator

My understanding is they no longer have tickets for the ice show and you just show up. They will close the doors once max seating has been achieved. They used to hand out tickets (no cost) for crowd control purposes. For skating by the guests they have set times and you have to sign a waiver. You also have to wear long pants. They also have free skating lessons.

Cafe Promenade is open 24 hours and it has both free and extra-fee items. Seattle's Best coffee is self-serve. If you want a specialty coffee then you order and pay for it at the bar. Many of the snacks are free but they do have some food items which will cost you. Thus, you can find things included in your cruise fare at all hours. I am fond of espresso so I usually end up paying for a double.
Old 04-11-2010, 03:15 PM

Thanks Dave. You've been a great help! I appreciate it!