Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2010, 04:43 PM

Hi everyone.. I'm new to this so bear with me. I need to know if, when you wish to go ashore, you have to purchase an "excursion", or if you can just get off the ship and spend the day as you please? My son lives on Grand Cayman, and that is what we want to do when we port there.
Thanks!
Old 07-29-2010, 04:54 PM
Administrator

Welcome to cruise-chat.

You do not have to be on an excursion to leave the ship at any port. In Grand Cayman you will have to take a tender from the ship to the pier. A tender is a smaller vessel or often a lifeboat they use to move passengers ashore when there is no pier for the cruise ship. They will have tender tickets to control initial loading. Just do what you have to do to get an early tender ticket and have your son meet you at the pier. Tender tickets do not cost anything. It is just a way for the ship to manage the number of people going ashore on a given tender as the tenders go back and forth. After the initial movement of people, they will stop using tender tickets and they will go back and forth to the ship every 20 minutes or so. Just don't lose track of time and miss the last tender. They will list the time for the last tender and when you need to be back aboard in the Cruise Compass (your daily newsletter for the cruise).

Have a nice visit with your son!
Old 07-29-2010, 05:14 PM

Thanks! If the ship ports at 8am, how soon do the "tenders" start running? Thanks again.. this is a big help!
Old 07-29-2010, 05:30 PM
Administrator