Go Back   Cruise Reviews Forums > Cruise Lines > Royal Caribbean Cruise Line
Register Forgot Password?
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  
Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 08:48 AM

I have booked a cruise for my sister and her family and I am now looking for travel insurance through Travel Insurance International. There are four types - highest price and coverage down. I am not sure what is best, can anyone advise. Do I get the best or mid or lowest. They will be going on a 10 day cruise to the Mexican Rivera in April. This is a first time cruise for any of us so we are total novices. I have gotten so much information from this site. Thank you in advance
Old 11-30-2009, 09:48 AM
Administrator

I often recommend that people compare policies at insuremytrip.com, where you can line them up and see what the best policy is for you.

I look for policies that have trip interruption, trip cancellation, medical payments, and medical evacuation. It may be too late for you to get pre-existing condition waivers, which is useful if one of the guests has an ongoing medical problem that could flare up just as the cruise begins. This waiver is usually available only if you buy insurance within 10 to 15 days of the cruise being booked. It can vary by company. However, you can buy policies which will pay you back if the cruise has to be cancelled for any reason. And yes, they cost more.

Don't dismiss the medical evacuation coverage need. If someone fell ill in a foreign port and needed to be flown home in a medical evacuation jet it can cost $50,000 to $100,000 or more. For perspective, I had to pay $10,000 for a medical helicopter for my wife a few years ago, and it was a 15 mile flight. It is not uncommon to learn a person's medical insurance will not cover evacuations, or will only cover a percentage of it.